Felony and Misdemeanor

The Criminal Department handles all felony, misdemeanor and county ordinance violations.

Felony cases are crimes of a more serious nature, punishable by death or imprisonment for more than one year. There are 1st, 2nd or 3rd degree felonies with different penalties for each degree.

Misdemeanor cases are lower than felonies and are punishable by fine, penalty, forfeiture or imprisonment not in a state penitentiary for less than one year. Misdemeanors are also categorized as 1st, 2ndor 3rd degree.

County or municipal ordinances are rules established by counties or municipalities that apply only to them. They are the equivalent of municipal or county statutes passed by the governing body regarding matters that are not already covered by federal or state law. Ordinances generally govern zoning, building and safety matters of the municipality.

Felony, misdemeanor or county ordinance case files are available for public viewing unless the case has been sealed, expunged, or confidential by law. A court file that has been sealed requires a court order to unseal the file prior to viewing its contents.

Copies of documents in criminal court files can be purchased for a fee of $1 per page. If the requested copy is to be certified an additional $2 will be charged for the certification, unless copying of document is prohibited by law.

Criminal Records Information System

You may call the Clerk’s Criminal Records Information System to obtain information regarding court dates or fine amounts for felony or misdemeanor cases by dialing (352) 521-4236 in Dade City or (727) 815-7027 in New Port Richey. By calling one of these numbers you will be advised of upcoming court dates and monies due. You will need to know the following information as it relates to your case:
  • Case Number(s)
  • SPN (System Person Number) referred to as 'spin'
  • Case Type (felony or misdemeanor)
  • Branch location, which designates which side of the county, your case is assigned to ES or WS
Victim's Rights

If you have been a victim of a crime, click the following link to obtain information on your rights as a victim. Victim's Rights


Fees and Costs

Copies of Court Documents $1 per page
Certification of Copies $2.00 per document
Assisted Record Searches $2.00
per name per year
Computer Record Searches Free
Issuing subpoena (sign and seal only)       $  2.00
Prepare and issue subpoena for a witness
(includes signing and sealing)
      $  7.00
Restitution payments (per payment)       $  3.50
Sealing any court file or expungement of any record       $42.00


Seal and Expunge

FDLE provides a service through which certain criminal records can be expunged (removed from our records) or sealed (placed under highly restricted access). For more information about this service, please visit the Florida Department of Law Enforcement's web site or by calling 1-850-410-7100 (toll charges apply).

Clemency and Restoration of Civil Rights

For more information on Clemency and the restoration of your civil rights, please visit the Florida Parole Commission's web site or call toll free at 1-800-488-2952.

Department Contact Information

DADE CITY NEW PORT RICHEY
Paula S. O'Neil
Clerk & Comptroller
38053 Live Oak Avenue
Suite 210
Dade City, FL 33523-3894
(352) 523-2411 Ext. 2200
8:30am-5:00pm
Monday-Friday



Directions
Paula S. O'Neil
Clerk & Comptroller
Mailing Address
P.O. Box 338
New Port Richey, FL 34656-0338
Physical Location:
7530 Little Road
New Port Richey, FL 34654
Suite 106
(727) 847-2411 Ext. 2200
8:30am-5:00pm
Monday-Friday
Directions