Fees and Service Costs
There is no fee for filing a domestic, stalking, repeat, dating or sexual violence petition. The respondent must be served with a copy of the petition by the Sheriff of the county where the respondent is located. There is no fee for the Sheriff service.
- The Clerk provides assistance to individuals seeking to file a Domestic Violence Injunction
(sometimes called a restraining order). A Petition can be filed by anyone who is the victim
of any act of domestic violence or has reasonable cause to believe he or she is in imminent
danger of becoming the victim of any act of domestic violence. To become more familiar with
the Domestic Violence services and procedures you may view the videos available through the
link below to obtain an overview of the Domestic Violence Petition and Hearing Process.
Sixth Judicial Circuit Domestic Violence Videos
- The Clerk & Comptroller provides clerical processing assistance to
individuals who are filing a case to petition the Court for an injunction for
protection from domestic, stalking, repeat, dating or sexual violence.
The Clerk & Comptroller does not represent either party in the action, and
is prohibited by law from giving you legal advice as to whether you should or
should not file. However, the Clerk & Comptroller can be a valuable source of
referral information for either party. Individuals are not required to hire an
attorney to represent him/herself, but may hire an attorney if they choose to do so.
- Blank forms and written instructions are available in the Clerk & Comptroller's Office or
online at no charge. The petitioner may print the forms at home and complete without signing it,
complete the paperwork in our office, or may take the forms with them for completion elsewhere.
Forms may also be obtained at the local domestic violence shelters. If you are unable to complete
the forms yourself, it is recommended that you bring a friend or someone who can do it for
- The Clerk & Comptroller will also provide the petitioner with the appropriate forms for
modifying, or extending the injunction in the event this becomes necessary.
- For information on finding a Domestic Violence Shelter in your area, visit
Florida Coalition Against Domestic Violence
- In Dade City Sunrise Domestic Violence Center 352-521-3120
open 24 hours seven days a week.
- In New Port Richey Salvation Army Domestic Violence Center 727-856-5797
open 24 hours seven days a week.
As defined in the Florida Statutes Chapter 741, "Domestic violence means an assault, aggravated assault, battery, aggravated battery, sexual assault, sexual battery, stalking, aggravated stalking, kidnapping or false imprisonment, or any criminal offense resulting in physical injury or death to any family or household member by another who is or was residing in the same single dwelling unit. Family or household member means spouses, former spouses, persons related by blood or marriage, persons who are presently residing together as if a family or who have resided together in the past as if a family, and persons who have a child in common regardless of whether they have been married or have resided together at any time."
Any family or household member who is the victim of any act of domestic violence, or who has reasonable cause to believe he or she is in imminent danger of becoming the victim of any act of domestic violence, may file a sworn petition with the Clerk & Comptroller for an injunction for protection. A person’s right to petition for protection shall not be affected by the fact the victim may have left a residence or household to avoid a domestic violence act.
As defined in the Florida Statutes Chapter 784, "Repeat violence means two incidents of violence or stalking committed by the respondent, one of which must have been within 6 months of the filing of the petition, which are directed against the petitioner or the petitioner's immediate family member."
As defined in the Florida Statutes Chapter 784, "Stalking means someone is purposefully following or harassing you repeatedly over a period of time for no legitimate purpose, causing you emotional stress. If in doing so, he/she threatens your life or threatens to harm you, with the intent to cause you to reasonable fear for your safety, then the act becomes aggravated. "
As defined in Florida Statutes Chapter 784, ""Dating violence" means violence between individuals who have or have had a continuing and significant relationship of a romantic or intimate nature. The existence of such a relationship shall be determined based on the consideration of the following factors: (a) A dating relationship must have existed within the past 6 months; (b) the nature of the relationship must have been characterized by the expectation of affection or sexual involvement between the parties; AND (c) the frequency and type of interaction between the persons involved in the relationship must have included that the persons have been involved over time and on a continuous basis during the course of the relationship. Dating violence does not include violence in a casual acquaintanceship or violence between individuals who only have engaged in ordinary fraternization in a business or social context.
If you or a member of your immediate family is a victim of sexual violence, you may ask the court for a protective order (injunction) prohibiting further sexual violence. Sexual violence means any one incident of:
- Sexual battery as defined in
Florida StatuteChapter 794; or
- A lewd and lascivious act, as defined in Florida Statute Chapter 800; or
- Luring or enticing a child, as described in Florida Statute Chapter 787; or
- Sexual performance by a child, as described in
Florida Statute Chapter 827; or
- Any other forcible felony wherein a sexual act is committed.
An order for protection may be requested regardless of whether or not any criminal charges based upon the incident were filed, reduced or dismissed by the State Attorney's Office.
> One of the following factors must exist in order for you to qualify for a sexual violence injunction:
- The petitioner has reported the sexual violence to a law enforcement agency and
is cooperating in any criminal proceeding against the respondent, regardless of
whether or not criminal charges based upon the sexual violence have been filed,
reduced or dismissed by the State Attorney's Office.
- The respondent who committed the sexual violence against the victim or minor child was sentenced to a term of imprisonment in state prison for the sexual violence and the respondent's term of imprisonment has expired or is due to expire within 90 days following the date the Petition for Injunction for Protection Against Sexual Violence is filed.
If at least one of the two above factors do not exist in your situation, you cannot file for an injunction against sexual violence. However, you may qualify for one of the other types of injunctions (domestic, repeat or dating).
Requirements for Filing a Case for Protective Injunction
- You must be 18 years of age in order to file a case. If you are under the age of
eighteen and have never been married or had the disabilities of nonage removed
by a court, one of your parents or your legal guardian must sign the petition on
- If you are seeking an injunction for protection against sexual violence on
behalf of a minor child who is living at home, the parent or legal guardian must
have been an eyewitness to, or have direct physical evidence or affidavits from
eyewitnesses of, the specific facts, and circumstances that form the basis of the
- You must meet the criteria as stated above in the definition of domestic, stalking,
repeat, dating or sexual violence.
- The hours for the Clerk & Comptroller's Office are Monday through Friday, 8:30am to 5:00pm
with the exception of Injunctions, which are processed in accordance with
TO FILE AN INJUNCTION, WE STRONGLY RECOMMEND THAT YOU COME INTO THE CLERK & COMPTROLLER'S OFFICE DURING MORNING BUSINESS HOURS. ALL PETITIONS FOR PROTECTIVE INJUNCTIONS MUST BE FILED BEFORE 4:00 P.M. FOR SAME DAY PROCESSING. THIS WILL ALLOW THE COURT TIME TO REVIEW THE CASE, AND THE CLERK TIME TO PROCESS THE DOCUMENTS. FOR AFTER HOURS PROCEDURES, PLEASE REFER TO AO 2012-054. AFTER HOURS MEANS, AFTER 4:00 P.M. AND BEFORE 8:30 A.M. ON A REGULAR WORK DAY, OR AT ANYTIME DURING A HOLIDAY OR WEEKEND DAY.
You may be instructed to return to the Clerk & Comptroller's Office at the end of the day to receive your copies of any orders signed by the Judge.
- You must complete the petition in your own words, briefly describing the
violence in enough detail for the Court to understand the situation. If the
forms are completed in the Clerk & Comptroller's Office, the deputy clerk will place you under
oath saying your statements are true. The completed forms must be notarized or acknowledged by
the deputy clerk in the Clerk & Comptroller's Office.
- Upon completion and filing with the Clerk & Comptroller, a court record
is created and the file is forwarded immediately to the Judge for review the
same day it is filed.
- If there is an immediate and present danger of violence, the Court can issue a
temporary injunction without notice to the respondent, which will remain
in effect up to 15 days.
The petitioner will be provided a certified copy of the temporary injunction.
which should be kept with you at all times in the event you must call the
Sheriff’s office to enforce the injunction.
The Clerk & Comptroller will make certified copies of the temporary injunction and a copy of
the petition and forward it to the Sheriff for service upon the respondent at
the address the petitioner provides to us.
During this 15-day time frame, the court will set a hearing and both parties
will be notified of the hearing date and time. At the hearing, the Court will
hear testimony as to whether a permanent injunction for protection will be
- The petitioner will be provided a certified copy of the temporary injunction. which should be kept with you at all times in the event you must call the Sheriff’s office to enforce the injunction.
- Based upon the statements contained in the petition, if the court does not issue
a temporary injunction, the court may set a hearing at which time both parties
must be present to determine if an injunction for protection will be ordered.
The clerk will make copies of the petition and notice of hearing and forward it
to the Sheriff for service upon the respondent at the address the petitioner
provides to us.
- OR the Court may find that no violence occurred or there is no imminent
threat of danger and will enter an order denying the petition.
- Both parties should appear at the hearing to present the facts to the Judge to determine if a permanent injunction for protection should be entered. If the petitioner and/or respondent do not appear, the court may enter appropriate orders, including the imposition of court costs, or an injunction.
Protective Injuction Packets
Injunction packets are provided for your convenience. Please print and complete the appropriate injunction packet to the best of your knowledge, and bring it with you to the Clerk & Comptroller's Office unsigned.
- Dating Violence Injunction Packet
- Domestic Violence (No-Child) Injunction Packet
- Domestic Violence (With-Child) Injunction Packet
- Repeat Violence Injunction Packet
- Sexual Violence Injunction Packet
- Stalking Injunction Packet
DISCLAIMER: These documents are not an attempt
by the Clerk & Comptroller to practice law or give legal advice, it is intended to provide
notice of procedures followed by the Clerk & Comptroller's Office at the direction of the
Courts. All forms are derived from either the Supreme Court promulgated forms or
Sixth Judicial Circuit Court approved forms. Forms are subject to change without
further notice by the Courts.
Department Contact Information
|DADE CITY||NEW PORT RICHEY|
Clerk & Comptroller
38053 Live Oak Avenue
Dade City, FL 33523-3894
(352) 523-2411 Ext. 2211
Clerk & Comptroller
P.O. Box 338
New Port Richey, FL 34656-0338
7530 Little Road
New Port Richey, FL 34654
(727) 847-2411 Ext. 2211