Marriage Licenses

  • Both parties must be over 18 years of age. Individuals who are 16 or 17 years of age must have written parental consent from both parents. The form for the written consent may be obtained from the Clerk & Comptroller's Office or online. The form containing the notarized signatures of both parents must be presented at the time the application for the marriage license is made.

    For further information, contact the Clerk & Comptroller's Office at (352) 521-4468 or (727) 847-8086. If you are not from a local calling area for Dade City or New Port Richey, please call (800) 368-2411 and enter extension 4468 for Dade City or 8231 for New Port Richey.

  • Present a valid photo identification (state issued driver's license or ID card or passport).

  • Present a Social Security Number or identifying immigration number.

  • If either party has been divorced or widowed they must know the month, day and year the last marriage ended.

  • If the last marriage ended within the last 30 days, a certified copy of the divorce decree or death certificate must be presented.
  • Marriage license applicants should be in the office by 4:00pm in order to complete the necessary paperwork.

  • ALL APPLICANTS MUST READ THE FAMILY LAW HANDBOOK that is provided at the time of application.

  • Complete and print the Marriage License Information sheet. This form can be completed online using Adobe Acrobat. If you do not have Adobe Reader installed on your computer, click the link below to download the free Adobe Reader.

  • If the applicants have children together that were born in the state of Florida, a state mandated form must be completed regarding birth information on the children. There is an additional $3.50 charge for administering the oath, signing and attesting to this document.
    Affirmation of Common Children Form


THERE IS A THREE-DAY WAITING PERIOD between the time the license is issued and the time the license is valid. The license becomes valid on the fourth day after issuance.

Applicants who are BOTH out-of-state residents, and who BOTH have out-of-state identification are exempt from the three-day waiting period.

LICENSES ARE VALID FOR 60 DAYS AND ARE FOR USE IN THE STATE OF FLORIDA ONLY

Cost of the license is $93.50, payable by check, credit card, or cash.

Marriage Ceremony

After your marriage ceremony has been performed, your LICENSE MUST BE RETURNED TO THIS OFFICE FOR RECORDING.
If you want to return to the Office of The Clerk & Comptroller to be married:

  • No appointments are necessary; please arrive no later than 4:30pm.

  • There is a $30 fee for ceremonies performed by deputy clerks.

Premarital Classes

Both parties must be Florida residents and have taken a 4 hour premarital class within the State of Florida to receive a reduction in the price of the marriage license and WAIVE the 3 day waiting period.


To get this reduction you must:

  • Bring in an original Premarital Class Providers Certificate or letter when applying for your license.

  • Cost of the license is $61, payable by check, credit card, or cash.

  • Provide the exact date your last marriage ended either by death or divorce.<

  • Provide your social security number.


Premarital preparation courses may include the following lists of qualified instructors as provided by Florida Statutes 741.0305 (3)(a)(1-6):

  • A psychologist licensed under F.S. Chapter 490

  • A clinical social worker licensed under F.S. Chapter 491

  • A marriage and family therapist license under F.S. Chapter 491

  • A mental health counselor license under F.S. Chapter 491

  • An official representative of a religious institution which is recognized under F.S.496.404(19), if the representative has relevant training

  • Any other provider designated by a judicial circuit, including but not limited to school counselors who are certified to offer such courses.

Decorative Marriage Certificates

Decorative Marriage Certificates are available for $10.70 for any marriage license that was issued in Pasco County. Add $1.00 for postage if requesting by mail. Choose from 2 different styles.



Office mailing address:

Paula S. O'Neil, Clerk & Comptroller
38053 Live Oak Avenue
Dade City, FL 33523-3894