A Very Special Valentine's Day Marriage Ceremony
Registrations are closed for the 13th annual Valentine's Day Wedding Ceremony. Adhering to protocols set by public health officials, participation was capped at 24 couples; that maximum was reached Tuesay morning.
We are delighted at the response, and eager to help launch these two dozen committed couples on their lives together. See you Sunday!
Original post follows:
In its 13th year, our annual Valentine's Day Marriage Ceremony arrives – like the holiday itself – on a Sunday! Committed couples who register by Feb. 11 can be part of a special piece of romantic history.
There is no waiting period if both applicants are not Florida residents.
- BOTH PARTIES MUST APPLY TOGETHER IN PERSON.
- Effective July 1, 2018, both parties must be at least 18 years of age to marry without the consent of both parents or legal guardians.
- Also effective July 1, 2018, the age of eligibility for marriage in Florida was raised to 17. Individuals who are 17 years of age – but younger than 18 – must have written consent from both parents or legal guardians.
- In a marriage in which one partner is 17, the other partner must not be more than two years older.
- The form Affidavit of Parental Consent Form (PDF) may be obtained online or from the Clerk & Comptroller’s Office. The form containing the notarized signatures of both parents (or legal guardians) must be presented at the time of application for a marriage license.
- Present a valid photo identification (state-issued driver’s license, passport, state ID, military ID, etc.).
- Knowledge of your Social Security number or identifying immigration number for application purposes is recommended.
- If either party has been divorced or widowed, (s)he must know the month, day, and year the most recent marriage ended.
- All applicants must read the Family Law Handbook (PDF) provided at the time of application.
- Complete and print the Marriage License Information Sheet (PDF). This form can be completed online using Adobe Acrobat. If you do not have Adobe Reader installed on your computer, download the free Adobe Reader.
- Complete and print the Premarital Course and Handbook Statement Form (PDF).
- If applicants have children together who were born in Florida, an Affirmation of Common Children Form (PDF) must be completed regarding birth information for the children. An additional $3.50 is charged for administering the oath, signing, and attesting to this document.
Protecting Personal or Confidential Information
There is a balance between individual privacy and the need to have records readily available for viewing. Should you find a document you believe requires protection of your personal, confidential, or sensitive information, visit our Protecting Personal or Confidential Information page to learn about the options available to protect your information.