- Court Services
- Traffic Citation Options
Traffic Citation Options
If you are charged with a civil infraction you must choose one of the five options below within 30 days from the citation issuance date. If your case is a criminal case, visit criminal court financial obligations options for the appropriate information for your case type.
- Option 1 – Make Civil Payment in Full
- Option 2 – Elect to Attend a Driver-Improvement Course
- Option 3 – Request a Payment Plan
- Option 4 – Plead Not Guilty & Request a Court Hearing
- Option 5 – Plea of No Contest & Request for Withhold of Adjudication
OPTION 1 – PAY CIVIL PENALTY IN FULL
Pay the civil penalty within 30 days from the citation issuance date. Payments received after 30 days, regardless of postmark, incur an additional $23 delinquency fee.
Paying your citation is an admission of guilt and points will be assessed on your driver’s license, if applicable.
Payments may be made by one of the following methods.
Pay online with a debit or credit card no later than the 29th day from the date of the citation. For example, if the citation was issued on January 1, the online payment must be made no later than 11:59 p.m. on January 30.
You will not be able to pay your traffic citation online if a late fee has been assessed or the traffic citation relates to your vehicle registration, insurance, or driver’s license.
Pay by Telephone
Contact customer service with a bank-issued debit or credit card using one of the following numbers:
- Dade City: (352) 521-4542, Option 2
- New Port Richey: (727) 847-8031, Option 2
Call Monday through Friday, 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m., excluding holidays. The authorized cardholder must be present to grant use of debit or credit card. American Express, Discover, MasterCard, and Visa are accepted. All debit/credit card transactions incur a 3.5% transaction fee charged by MyFloridaCounty.
Pay by Mail
Send your check or money order, made payable to Nikki Alvarez-Sowles, Clerk & Comptroller, to one of our Court Operations locations. Include a copy of the citation and indicate the citation number on the check or money order. Payments received after the due date, regardless of postmark, incur a $23 late fee and suspension of your driving privileges.
Pay in Person
Pay in person Monday to Friday, 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m., excluding holidays, at the Robert D. Sumner Judicial Center or the West Pasco Judicial Center.
Option 2 – Elect to Attend Driver-Improvement Course
Elect to attend an approved, State of Florida driver-improvement course to avoid points being assessed. To elect this option, the civil penalty must be paid and accompanied by an affidavit to elect a defensive driving school form (PDF) within 30 days from the citation issuance date.
Note: The option to enter into a payment plan is waived when selecting this option.
You may not elect to attend a driver-improvement course if you have been charged with:
- A driver’s license, registration, insurance, or nonmoving violation.
- A mandatory court violation.
Pursuant to Chapter 318.14(9), Florida Statutes, when selecting the driver-improvement course option, you must certify:
- You have not elected to attend a driver-improvement course within the preceding 12 months.
- You have not elected to attend a driver-improvement course more than five times within your lifetime.
- You do not hold a commercial driver’s license (CDL).
Check eligibility to elect a driver-improvement course.
A list of approved driver-improvement courses is available online from the Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles or may be found in the yellow pages of your local telephone directory under driver instruction or traffic schools. It is your responsibility to contact the agency of your choice.
Your driver-improvement course must be completed within 60 days of election. Upon completion, you are responsible for filing the certificate with the Clerk & Comptroller’s Office.
A certificate of completion will not be accepted after the due date. Failure to submit by the due date will result in applicable points being assessed to your driver’s license. Failure to submit a certificate of completion within 60 days of election will result in a $23 late fee, an $18 penalty, and payment of the 18% discount. Failure to complete a driver-improvement course is considered an election.
Option 3 – Request a Payment Plan
Single-Case Payment Plans
The option for a single case payment plan is available. To apply, complete a Payment Plan Application (PDF) and provide a minimum payment of $25 for the application fee. The completed application and fee must be mailed or hand-delivered to the Clerk & Comptroller’s Office. You may also E-File your application through the online E-Filing portal and pay the application fee by phone.
Single-case payment plans are offered for a 90-day period from when the signed document and down payment are eceived.
Multiple-Case Payment Plans
The option for an all-inclusive, multiple-case payment arrangement is available for criminal cases and/or traffic citations. Your total financial obligation, along with any outstanding conditions that may impact your driving privilege, will be provided. A down payment along with a signed copy of the finalized payment plan will be due upon agreement of the terms. Contact our Office to submit a request.
- This payment site is not for Criminal Court Case Financial Obligations. To make an online payment toward a traffic ticket, view the Criminal Court Financial Obligations Options.
- Payment plans establish timeframes for payment of criminal court financial obligations to the Clerk & Comptroller’s Office. Funds due to other entities, including probation offices, outside programs, and restitution, will not be included in your payment arrangement.
- Cases that have not been adjudicated are not eligible for a payment arrangement.
- Payment plans do not extend due dates of outstanding conditions, including, but not limited to, court-ordered defensive driving school or community service.
- Entering a payment plan agreement waives your right to elect a driver-improvement course on traffic infractions.
- If a suspension for a misdemeanor or a circuit felony case type has been issued against your driving privilege, contact our Office to have an Affidavit to Reinstate Driver License Privilege issued. Additional fees may be required.
- Contact our Office if you have additional questions concerning payment options or payment plan arrangements.
Option 4 – Plead Not Guilty & Request a Court Hearing
If you choose to enter a not-guilty plea and contest the traffic citation in court, you must notify the Clerk in writing within 30 days from the citation issuance date. To request a hearing, complete a Plea of Not Guilty form. The completed form must be received by the Clerk & Comptroller’s Office within 30 days from the citation issuance date. When you choose this option, you plead not guilty and waive your right to elect a driver-improvement course.
After receipt of the completed form by the Clerk & Comptroller’s Office, you will receive a notice advising the date and time of your hearing. If you reside outside Pasco County, you may attend in person, at your expense, or be represented at the hearing by way of an Affidavit of Defense (PDF). Subpoenas will be issued for the law enforcement officer as well as any officer witnesses. You are responsible to ensure witnesses you require are subpoenaed to appear for the hearing to testify.
If you are found guilty, any combination of the following may apply:
- Fined up to $1,000.
- Ordered to pay court costs.
- Required to attend a driver-improvement course.
- Have points assessed to your license.
Option 5 – Plea of No Contest & Request for Withhold of Adjudication
A Plea of No Contest allows you to ask the Court to withhold an adjudication of guilt without attending a hearing. In your absence, the judge will determine to grant or deny your plea. If you choose to file a Plea of No Contest, you agree to waive your right to a speedy trial. In addition, you still are required to pay the civil penalty and may be ordered to attend a driver-improvement course.
You must pay $17.83 at the time of filing the Plea of No Contest form (PDF). This fee covers the cost for a driver’s license history and postage to return your disposition. If the fee is not submitted with your plea, no action shall be taken. You may be subject to a delinquency fee and your driver’s license may be suspended.
If you are unable to pay the civil penalty due to financial hardship, you may request authorization from the Court to satisfy your civil penalties through a public-works or community-service program.
Driver Improvement Course
You may not elect to attend a driver-improvement course if you possess a CDL driver’s license, a CDL learner’s permit, or have been charged with:
- A driver’s license/registration/insurance violation.
- A nonmoving violation.
- A mandatory court violation.