To request a hearing, you must notify the Clerk & Comptroller's Office in writing, within the required time frame of 30 calendar days from the date of issuance of the citation. Your case will be scheduled for a court date and you will be advised when and where you appear. While you citation is pending, you are required to inform the Clerk & Comptroller's Office of any address changes to ensure you received proper notification of your court hearing.
A plea of not guilty form (PDF) is available online. The completed and signed form must be mailed or hand-delivered to one of our Court Operations locations within the required 30 day time frame. To view and complete the form, you must have Adobe Acrobat installed on your computer.
Show All Answers
A criminal traffic charge, such as driving under the influence, requires a court appearance as it carries criminal penalties which may include fines and costs, probation and/or the possibility of a jail term. Payment of the citation cannot be made automatically to the Office of Clerk & Comptroller. Persons charged with a criminal traffic offense shall be sent a notice showing when they must appear in court.
A civil traffic infraction is a noncriminal charge that usually can be disposed of by payment of a civil penalty or an election to attend a defensive driving course. A court appearance is not required, except in cases involving an accident with serious bodily injury or fatality. Payment may be made by mail, in person by visiting one of the Court Operations locations, or by phone.
To pay the citation and elect a defensive driving course online, visit MyFloridaCounty.com. Individuals unable to pay the fine via the Internet may complete the election to attend a driver-improvement course form (PDF) print, and mail or hand-deliver to one of our Court Operations locations.
Note: You are not eligible for defensive driving school if you possess a commercial driver’s license. To view and complete the form, you must have Adobe Acrobat installed on your computer.
Infraction violations must be paid within 30 days from the date the citation was issued.
If you are charged with a non-criminal traffic violation, you may pay the citation online with a bank issued debit or credit card. If eligible, you may also elect to attend a driver improvement course online, at the time of payment. A 3.5% convenience fee will be assessed by the vendor, MyFloridaCounty.
To pay the citation and elect a defensive driving course online, visit MyFloridaCounty.com.
Payable civil infractions may be satisfied by entering a plea of not guilty (PDF). You will be notified by mail of your hearing date and time.
Have the violation corrected and have the back of the yellow copy of the citation (Faulty Equipment Affidavit of Compliance) signed by the local police department or sheriff's office. Return the signed copy of the affidavit together with the required fee amount due to the Clerk & Comptroller.
If you were charged with failure to carry your driver's license, registration, and/or insurance and these documents were valid at the time the citation was issued, you may present the driver's license, registration, or proof of insurance within 30 calendar days to the Clerk & Comptroller. A dismissal fee will be assessed at that time.
Failure to pay your citation by the deadline may result in a suspension being entered against your driver's license, subjecting you to additional penalties and possibly affecting your insurance rates.
Linebarger Goggan Blair & Sampson and Penn Credit have been retained by the Pasco County Clerk & Comptroller's Office as an agent to collect outstanding traffic fines. Since payment for your traffic citation is past due, your driver's license has been suspended and all enforcement conditions will remain in effect, pursuant to Chapter 318.15, Florida Statutes.
For instructions and additional information, contact Linebarger Goggan Blair & Sampson at (866) 234-9790 or Penn Credit at (800) 800-3328.
The Traffic Division of the County Court is set up to hear criminal traffic, civil traffic infractions, and parking citation cases. Criminal traffic cases are heard by County judges; most civil infractions are heard by hearing officers during evening hours. Contested parking citation cases also are heard by hearing officers.
Nonresidents may plead not guilty by completing an Affidavit of Defense (PDF) and filing it with one of our Court Operations locations. A bond must be posted with the Clerk & Comptroller's Office before the affidavit can be reviewed and ruled on by the Court. You will not need to appear before the Court.
To view and complete the form, you must have Adobe Acrobat installed on your computer.
Enter "Florida-approved basic improvement course" in your preferred web browser and select from any Florida-approved company.
The hearing will be attended by the officer who issued the traffic citation and any other witnesses called by the officer, as well as witnesses you may wish to call to testify on your behalf.
If you are found guilty of a civil traffic infraction, the Court may assess fine and costs, order you to attend a defensive driving course, or impose other penalties. If you fail to pay the fine and costs within the time allotted by the Court, a suspension shall be issued against your driver's license and additional penalties shall be imposed.
Deputy clerks can neither advise you on the number of points assessed against your driving history nor on how points will affect your insurance. These concerns must be addressed to the Florida Department of Transportation and Highway Safety's Division of Motorist Services and/or your insurance agent.
Fines for civil infractions are governed by Florida Statutes. View the most current fine schedule.
Fines are distributed to various funds established by the Legislature, with a portion being returned to the issuing law enforcement agency and a service charge retained by the Clerk & Comptroller.
If your license is suspended for failure to pay a civil infraction in Pasco County, you must pay the fine amount owing plus the assessed delinquency fee. The Clerk & Comptroller's Office can assist you in reinstating your license. If there are other reasons for the suspension, you must visit a driver's license office for reinstatement. A reinstatement fee is required.
Citations must be satisfied in the county in which they were issued.